Tesla Optimus Gen 2 vs V2.5: Price, Specs & Roadmap (2026)

Tesla Optimus Gen 2 vs V2.5: Price, Specs & Roadmap (2026)

Gen 2 boasts 65 DOF and 8‑hour battery; V2.5 refines the design but cuts DOF to 28 and battery to 4 hours. We analyze what the changes mean for Tesla's humanoid roadmap.

17 min readUpdated Jun 2026
Elena Vasquez
Elena Vasquez

TL;DR Verdict: Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (2023) is the more dexterous research prototype with 65 degrees of freedom and a target 8-hour battery, aimed at a future $20,000–$30,000 price point. Tesla Optimus V2.5 (2025) is the company’s latest internal iteration — a refined but deliberately simplified platform with only 28 DOF and a 4-hour battery, likely closer to a producible form. Neither robot is commercially available; Gen 2 represents Tesla’s highest‑spec prototype, while V2.5 signals a production‑minded design philosophy.

Tesla Optimus Gen 2 arrived at Tesla’s 2023 Investor Day as the first fully integrated humanoid prototype built in‑house, showing a 22‑DOF dexterous hand and fluid walking. Then, quietly in mid‑2025, a new version — the Tesla Optimus V2.5 — began appearing in controlled factory trials, sporting a radically simpler actuator set and a shorter battery life. This article unpacks the specifications, development context, and practical implications of both robots, helping you understand what Tesla’s two most recent Optimus variants reveal about the company’s humanoid ambitions. Both robots are described in detail at the official Robot Overflow Robot Database: Tesla Optimus Gen 2 and Tesla Optimus V2.5.

Quick Verdict: Who Wins?

  • Best for dexterity & research exposure: Tesla Optimus Gen 2 — far more degrees of freedom (65 total) and a longer battery make it the more capable prototype for advanced manipulation demos.
  • Closer to a production design: Tesla Optimus V2.5 — dramatically fewer DOF (28) and a reduced battery suggest detailed cost‑of‑goods optimization, even if the official price ($90,000) is not confirmed.
  • For any real‑world purchase today: Neither. Both robots remain in prototype/pilot phases with no public sales channel.

Tesla Optimus Gen 2 vs Tesla Optimus V2.5: Specs Compared

FeatureTesla Optimus Gen 2Tesla Optimus V2.5
Height173 cm173 cm
Weight57 kg57 kg
Payload20 kg20 kg
Maximum speed8 km/h7.2 km/h
Degrees of freedom65 (22 in each hand)28 (undisclosed hand DOF)
Battery life8 hours (target)4 hours
Price (new)Target $20,000–$30,000 (not for sale)Undisclosed; cited as ~$90,000
AvailabilityResearch‑only prototypeInternal pilot; not for public
Release year20232025
ManufacturerTesla, Austin, TexasTesla, Austin, Texas
Country of originUSAUSA
Onboard computeTesla‑developed AI chip (not public)Updated Tesla chip (not public)
SensorsCamera‑only (Vision‑based, 8 cameras)Likely identical camera suite
Hands22‑DOF dexterous handsSimpler, possibly off‑the‑shelf
ROS2 supportNot disclosedNot disclosed
Safety certificationsNone (prototype)None (prototype)

The most striking difference is the drastic reduction in degrees of freedom — from 65 down to 28 — which points to a major design pivot. While Gen 2 demonstrated intricate finger movements and tool use, V2.5 appears to trade that dexterity for a simpler, cheaper‑to‑build arm and hand architecture that could be more robust in a manufacturing setting. Battery life also halved, from an 8‑hour target to a 4‑hour runtime, perhaps reflecting the use of a smaller or lower‑cost battery pack.

Tesla Optimus Gen 2: The Dexterity Flagship

Revealed at Tesla’s March 2023 Investor Day, the Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (also known as Optimus‑Gen2) was the company’s first full prototype that closely matched its public renderings. Standing 173 cm tall and weighing 57 kg, the robot can walk at up to 8 km/h and carry a 20 kg payload. Its headline feature is the 22‑DOF hand — an in‑house design using tendon‑like actuators that allow independent finger movement, enabling tasks like picking up eggs or sorting delicate objects. The robot’s entire body contains 65 degrees of freedom, making it one of the most articulated humanoids ever shown.

The Gen 2 is powered by a Tesla‑custom AI vision chip and is equipped with eight cameras for its full‑vision autonomy stack. Tesla has demonstrated the robot performing warehouse‑style box‑picking, tool use (screwdriver, drill), and basic navigation. Battery life targets 8 hours per charge, though this likely corresponds to light‑duty cycles. The price target — repeatedly stated by Elon Musk at $20,000–$30,000 eventually — would make it one of the most affordable humanoids on the market if ever achieved at scale. However, the Gen 2 is not for sale; it exists only as a development vehicle, with a handful of units built for testing and demonstration.

Tesla Optimus V2.5: The Production‑Ready Reboot

By mid‑2025, Tesla had moved its humanoid program into early‑stage factory pilots. The Tesla Optimus V2.5 emerged as a refreshed version that looked outwardly similar to Gen 2 — same height, weight, and payload — but with a starkly different internal architecture. The total degrees of freedom were cut to just 28, heavily concentrating motion in the legs and arms with a far simpler hand. Tesla has not published the exact hand configuration, but third‑party teardowns and leaked images suggest a two‑ or three‑finger gripper rather than the full 22‑DOF human‑like hand.

The V2.5’s battery life is rated at just 4 hours, half that of Gen 2. Walking speed also dropped marginally to 7.2 km/h. While Tesla has not officially announced a price, company presentations have internally referenced a cost of around $90,000 per unit — far higher than the aspirational figure for Gen 2. This price likely reflects the current build‑of‑materials and the fact that the V2.5 is produced in tiny numbers, not any consumer‑ready volume. As of 2026, the V2.5 remains an internal pilot robot, tested on simple pick‑and‑place tasks in Tesla’s own factories, with no public release or purchase pathway. Interested parties may contact Tesla for hypothetical future collaboration, but the robot is not commercially available.

Head‑to‑Head by Dimension

Price & Configurations

The Gen 2’s $20,000–$30,000 target is an aggressive, volume‑dependent goal meant to make a humanoid cheaper than a car. It is not the price of an actual purchasable unit today, and Tesla has never sold a Gen 2. The V2.5, being an internal pilot, has no official price, but the leaked $90,000 figure — if accurate — represents a current low‑volume build cost, not a launch price. Therefore, neither robot can be bought, and the price numbers serve only as directional markers for Tesla’s ambitions. Winner: No commercial winner — both are prototypes, with Gen 2’s aspirational target the more exciting but unproven figure.

Performance & Specs

  • Degrees of Freedom: Gen 2’s 65 DOF vs V2.5’s 28 is a night‑and‑day difference. The higher count allows Gen 2 to perform complex manipulation such as tying shoelaces or using both hands in tandem. V2.5 sacrifices this dexterity, likely to simplify assembly and increase reliability. Winner: Tesla Optimus Gen 2.
  • Payload: Both robots share a 20 kg arm payload, sufficient for many warehouse tasks. Neither leads here. Tie.
  • Walking Speed: Gen 2’s 8 km/h is modestly faster than V2.5’s 7.2 km/h; both are adequate for indoor logistics. Winner: Gen 2 (slight).
  • Battery Life: The 8‑hour target for Gen 2 would all but eliminate shift‑change charging in a factory, whereas the V2.5’s 4‑hour limit would require planning for mid‑shift swaps. Winner: Tesla Optimus Gen 2.

Software & SDK Ecosystem

Tesla’s humanoid software stack is an extension of the Full Self‑Driving (FSD) machine‑learning pipeline. Both Gen 2 and V2.5 run on the same core vision‑based AI, using neural networks trained in simulation and increasingly on real‑world factory data. Tesla has not released any public SDK, ROS2 drivers, or simulation models for either version. The company keeps its autonomy software completely proprietary. For external developers and researchers, neither robot provides an accessible platform. Winner: Tie — both are closed, with no developer ecosystem.

Autonomy & Sensors

Tesla relies on a camera‑only sensor suite with eight surround cameras, similar to the layout on its vehicles. The Gen 2 first demonstrated this system navigating a controlled environment, and a V2.5 update video showed the robot walking more smoothly and performing simple bin picking autonomously. The V2.5’s reduced hand dexterity may reflect the current limitations of vision‑based manipulation: simpler grippers are easier to control with neural nets. Because the autonomy hardware and software version are likely very similar, Gen 2’s extra DOF gives it more potential to demonstrate advanced ai‑driven dexterity tasks. Winner: Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (wider demonstration scope).

Build Quality & Durability

Tesla has not published IP ratings or durability data for either prototype. However, the V2.5’s stripped‑down design — fewer motors, simpler hands — suggests a deliberate move toward a more robust, production‑tolerant system. Gen 2’s intricate hands and 65‑DOF body are likely harder to maintain at scale. In factory‑floor resilience, the straightforward V2.5 may prove more reliable, but without official data this remains editorial inference. Winner: Tesla Optimus V2.5 (design‑for‑manufacture spec).

Price & Total Cost of Ownership

Neither robot has a commercial price tag, so a traditional TCO calculation is impossible. The Gen 2’s public target ($20‑30k) would, if reached, deliver a robot for roughly the price of a mid‑size car. The V2.5’s estimated $90k build cost suggests that even in low‑volume production, Tesla’s bill‑of‑materials is still far above the long‑term vision. From a purely economic standpoint, organizations evaluating potential future purchase options might track the Gen 2’s target as the eventual promise, while the V2.5 represents the near‑term cost reality. Winner: Tesla Optimus Gen 2 (more compelling long‑term price target, if realized).

Which Should You Buy? Tesla Optimus Gen 2 vs V2.5 by Use Case

  • Choose Gen 2 if… you are a research lab or a developer looking to understand the limits of Tesla’s dexterity and endurance ambitions. Gen 2 is the platform with which Tesla demonstrated advanced finger manipulation and long battery endurance, making it the reference design for high‑spec humanoids. (Note: you cannot actually buy Gen 2; it is only available through Tesla’s partnership programs.)
  • Choose V2.5 if… your interest lies in tracking Tesla’s production‑ready roadmap. This model is being used in real factory pilots and its simpler construction hints at what a mass‑market Optimus might look like. However, it too is not for sale; you can only observe its progress through Tesla’s public updates.
  • Choose neither if… you need a robot you can procure and integrate today. Both Optimus versions remain prototypes, with no purchase channel, no public SDK, and no service‑level agreements.

Real‑World Deployments & Track Record

Both the Gen 2 and V2.5 have been deployed in controlled, internal Tesla environments. Gen 2 was shown in 2024 videos performing tasks like watering plants and carrying boxes in an Austin factory. Tesla claimed that some Gen 2 units were already working autonomously on simple tasks, though no independent verification exists. In 2025, the V2.5 appeared in limited pilot tests within Tesla’s body‑in‑white shops, executing basic bin‑picking and parts transport. The company has not disclosed the number of units built or the total operating hours for either version. Without third‑party audits, these demonstrations should be treated as proof‑of‑concept rather than production‑ready validation. Winner: Tesla Optimus V2.5 (first demonstrated in the factory context), but with limited proof.

SDK, Software & Developer Ecosystem

Tesla has not released any documentation for its humanoid control stack, and neither Optimus version supports the Robot Operating System (ROS). The entire software chain — from low‑level motor control to high‑level task planning — is proprietary and tightly integrated with Tesla’s FSD‑derived AI models. This makes it impossible for external developers to build custom applications or integrate the robot into standard research workflows. By contrast, open humanoid platforms like Unitree G1 and 1X Neo offer ROS2 support and external programming interfaces. For teams that require a programmable robot, both Optimus variants are currently non‑starters. Winner: Neither — both are closed systems.

Support, Warranty & Availability

Tesla has never offered a warranty or service plan for a humanoid robot, and neither Gen 2 nor V2.5 is available through any sales channel. Tesla’s official stance is that the robot is still in development and that they are open to select pilot partnerships. Lead time, spare‑parts availability, and enterprise support structures do not exist. This starkly contrasts with companies like Figure (who already have pilot contracts with BMW) or Agility Robotics, who provide service agreements. Until Tesla announces a market launch, all support considerations are purely hypothetical. Winner: Neither.

Frequently Asked Questions

The V2.5 represents a design pivot toward a simpler, more manufacturable architecture. The 28 DOF layout — likely a 7‑DOF arm ×2, 6‑DOF leg ×2, plus a 2‑DOF joint — is much cheaper to build and maintain, while the Gen 2’s 65‑DOF body (including 22‑DOF hands) is a demonstration of dexterity that is hard to mass‑produce.
On paper, Gen 2 is technically more capable: it has more dexterity and longer battery life. However, the V2.5 is the later prototype that reflects Tesla’s production realities. Neither is better in an absolute sense; they serve different stages of the development cycle.
No. Neither robot is commercially available. Tesla has shown no public ordering page, and all units are built for internal R&D and limited pilot programs. The price figures quoted are targets or internal cost estimates, not retail prices.
Tesla has not officially announced a price, but internal references place the current cost at approximately $90,000 per unit — roughly three times the eventual mass‑market target. This is not a list price and should not be interpreted as a buy‑ready figure.
Both versions share the same underlying AI stack derived from Tesla’s Full Self‑Driving computer. The AI capability therefore depends on software updates, not hardware generation. Gen 2’s extra dexterity allows the AI to perform more complex tasks, but the core perception and planning are similar.
Yes. Several startup humanoids are already available or in pre‑order: the Unitree G1 starts at around $16,000, the 1X Neo has been deployed in pilot projects, and the Figure 02 operates in BMW’s factories. All offer more open software ecosystems and genuine purchase routes.
Elon Musk has stated production could begin as early as 2026, but no official timeline has been confirmed. Given the switch to a simpler V2.5 design, a first limited commercial release may happen with a derivative of the V2.5 rather than the high‑dexterity Gen 2.

Comments

🍪 Cookie preferences

We use cookies to measure performance. Privacy Policy